Work In Progress…

I’ve finally been bitten by the artistic bug again. Its been a long year with a lot of voluntary work and job applications but I finally feel settled enough to enjoy the painting process again. I’ve recently dipped into the ‘shame bin’ in my studio – the place where I hide all the work I feel disappointed in or simply fed up with. It’s amazing how the passage of time makes me look at these works with a lot more fondness. That’s one of the plus sides to painting, you can always come back to a piece of work no matter how much time has passed!

Over this last week, my studio has been subjected to a proper clear out. I have raked into all the nooks and crannies that I can reach in an effort to gain a bit of extra space. It’s quite frankly amazing how much room I need. I’ve taken out all my papers, rearranged them into folders and tidied them away into there respective boxes. All my materials are now in drawers or boxes, keeping them away from any creepy crawlies! My canvases have been taken from my home and into the studio, packed away into their new cardboard homes. All my finished paintings have been wrapped up and stored away properly… in other words out of the studio! The amount of mess I create never ceases to amaze me!

I’ve got a lot of canvas work and paintings on the go just now. I like to work with several projects at the same time – that way if somethings not working, I can move onto something else and come back again once I’ve cleared my mind.

I’m currently working on some beautifully coloured canvases. There are four in this series although one looks more advanced than the others. I’m creating experiments in my sketchbook with photographic paper. With a bit of luck this will be my new project. I’m also developing work on mirrors with sand, mica and ink… I’m pretty obsessed with mixed media.

With all these works in progress I feel the need to make some effort and get in contact with some galleries. If any galleries out there are looking for new work, let me know!

P1000919P1000942P1000954P1000932

Leave a Reply

